

ABOUT THE PARLIAMENT

History

The Grand National Assembly of Turkey (GNAT) is a unicameral legislature. It is the sole body given the legislative power by the Constitution. It was founded in Ankara on April 23, 1920 in the midst of the War of Independence.

The Parliament served as the source of inspiration for the efforts of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk and his colleagues to found a new state out of the remnants of the Ottoman Empire in the aftermath of the World War I.



Composition of the Parliament

The Grand National Assembly of Turkey is composed of 600 deputies elected for a five-year term by the D'Hondt method, a party-list proportional representation system, from 87 electoral districts which represent the 81 administrative provinces of Turkey (Istanbul is divided into three electoral districts whereas Ankara and Izmir into two each, because of their large populations). To avoid a hung parliament and an excessive political fragmentation, only parties that win at least 10% of the votes cast in a parliamentary election gain the right to be represented in the Parliament. Political parties who have at least 20 deputies may form a political party group.

Speaker of the Parliament

The Speaker is elected by secret ballot among the members of the parliament. The election of the Speaker is held twice within a legislative term. The term of office of the Speaker, elected at the beginning of the legislative term, is two years. The duties of the Speaker are defined by the Rules of Procedure of the Grand National Assembly of Turkey.



The Bureau

- The Bureau of the Grand National Assembly of Turkey has significant roles regarding the legislative activities and administrative matters. The Bureau is composed of the Speaker, four Vice-Speakers, five Quaestors and eight Secretaries and ensures the proportional representation of all political party groups.
- The Plenary may increase the number of quaestors and secretaries upon a proposal of the Board of Spokespersons, if necessary. However, the number of vice-speakers cannot be more than four. Vice-speakers preside over the Plenary Sessions according to a weekly rotation. The Speaker presides over the Plenary Sessions if he deems it necessary. Two secretaries shall be present during the Plenary Sessions.



THE PLENARY

The Plenary of the Assembly is the final decision organ which carries out the legislative, scrutiny and other functions. Government bills and private members' bills debated in the committees are enacted upon the approval of the Plenary.

The motions on obtaining information and methods of scrutiny, except motions of written questions, are submitted for the information of the Plenary or deliberated in the Plenary.

Furthermore, the decisions taken and the elections held in the Plenary pertain to various matters foreseen in the Constitution, the Rules of Procedure and relevant laws

Working Days and Hours of the Plenary

As a general rule, the Plenary convenes on Tuesdays from 3 p.m. to 9 p.m., Wednesdays and Thursdays from 2 p.m. to 9 p.m. However, depending on a proposal of the Board of Spokespersons and the decision of the Plenary, the Assembly may sit during various hours and on various days of the week. In practice, the Plenary may convene earlier than 2 or 3 p.m. and work later than 9 p.m. or over the weekends, particularly during the budgetary debates.

THE COMMITTEES

Standing Committees

- The Committee on Constitution
- The Committee on Justice
- The Committee on National Defence
- The Committee on Internal Affairs
- The Committee on Foreign Affairs
- The Committee on National Education, Culture, Youth and Sports
- The Committee on Public Works, Reconstruction, Transportation and Tourism
- The Committee on Environment
- The Committee on Health, Family, Labor and Social Affairs
- The Committee on Agriculture, Forestry and Rural Affairs
- The Committee on Industry, Trade, Energy, Natural Resources, Information and Technology
- The Committee on Petition
- The Committee on Plan and Budget
- The Committee on State Economic Enterprises
- The Committee on Human Rights Inquiry
- The Committee on Equal Opportunity for Women and Men
- The Committee on European Union Harmonization Besides the standing committees
- The Committee on Security and Intelligence
- The Committee on Digital Channels

Parliamentary Inquiry Committees and Parliamentary Investigation Committees can also be established as ad hoc committees. Parliamentary Inquiry Committees are one of the auditing tools of the Parliament. An inquiry can begin with the decision of the Plenary upon the demand of political party groups or a minimum number of 20 deputies. Parliamentary Investigation Committees on the other hand, are established under special conditions to investigate specific topics and are composed of 15 members chosen by lot among the candidates nominated by political party groups.

